President Lasso appoints the 23 governors of the country

 Jun 04, 2021 – 14:14 pm

This last Thursday, the Ecuadorian President, Guillermo Lasso, appointed the 23 governors (representatives of the Executive branch) in the country’s provinces, with whom he intends to carry out his management of attention to citizens.

Lasso, in a meeting at the Government Palace in the historic center of Quito, assured that his mandate – which began on May 24 – will be aimed at working to guarantee the development and well-being of Ecuadorians in all corners of the country.

“I am pleased to present the 23 governors of the Ecuadorian provinces,” said Lasso and specified that this includes his delegate to the Government Council of the Galapagos Islands, Joan Sotomayor, the island province subject to special regulations.

The objective of the group of governors will be to manage work with local governments (prefectures, municipalities and parish councils), as well as with public institutions, to “meet the needs of citizens in each of the provinces,” he said.

For his part, the designated governor of Guayas, Vicente Taiano, said that one of the immediate and prioritized objectives will be to ensure security in the territory and support the vaccination process against Covid-19.

The governor of Cotopaxi, Oswaldo Marcelo Coronel, indicated that together with his colleagues they are committed to serving the public with total openness and tolerance.

However, he stressed that the main thing is to support the Vaccination Plan led by the Government and which seeks to immunize 9 million people (60 percent of the population) in three months.

“There is a special commission from President Lasso and we will be fulfilling it with the immense responsibility that we have,” added Coronel.

Ecuador is made up of 24 provinces, but only the Andean province of Pichincha, whose capital is Quito, does not have a governor, since the Executive office is based in this city.

The list of new governors in the Andean highlands are Oswaldo Marcelo Coronel (Cotopaxi), Abdón Marcelo Simbaña (Imbabura), Yaco Marlon Martínez (Carchi), María José Pontón (Chimborazo), Fernando Rodrigo Gavilanes (Tungurahua), Régulo Vicente Verdesoto (Bolívar), Mario Mancino Valdivieso (Loja), Esteban Remigio Bernal (Azuay) and Carlos Wilfrido Rivera (Cañar).

The governors of the coastal provinces are Francisco Javier Vera (El Oro), Tania Hydale Obando (Esmeraldas), Génesis Stefanía Blum (Los Ríos), Fulton Edulfo Anchundia (Santa Elena), Miguel Medardo Orellana (Santo Domingo), Juan Francisco Núñez ( Manabí) and José Vicente Taiano (Guayas).

In the Amazon, the governors are Freddy Vicente Villamagua (Morona Santiago), Jofre Wilfrido Villagómez (Napo), Yoni Esperanza Bustamante (Orellana), Polo Andrés Lascano (Pastaza), Darío Javier Domínguez (Sucumbíos) and Emilio Absalón Campoverde (Zamora Chinchipe).

Read the original coverage from El Diario at

Informing and sharing news on marine life, flora, fauna and conservation in the Galápagos Islands since 2017
© SOS Galápagos, 2021


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s